positive impact!!

I once, while eating my Githeri, read a quote from whoever in some west African country was wise enough, probably sited on an old degraded log outside a half thatched mud made hut, eating some roasted yam or drinking some hot sugarless porridge( ucuru wa muhia) that goes like ”if you think you are too small to make an impact, try spending a night in a room with a mosquito.“  well, not that a night in the same room with a mosquito implies some positive impact, in fact its rather ugly and disturbing if you come to think of it, but the sense of it is there will be some impact, as small as a mosquito can be, trust me, you will not have an ordinarily night in that freaking room, you might as well run to the nearest supermarket the next morning to buy one of two things, either a mosquito net or some doom…Doom should pay me for this unintended publicity, but those chunks will not even read this, they don’t even know i exist!!

So lets leave doom and such chunks out of this…………….

So as i had said on my facebook, the topic today would have been something to do with institutional racism..or if you are shy like most people are you could call discrimination or if you like to appear nice call it nicer and polite words like  i don’t know of any!  if you are the educated type you might get away with words like social or institutional prejudice and by the way you could probably appear intelligent for that matter! So that was what i was to discuss, but not anymore, why?

well after posting the topic on my facebook, something i normally don’t do as i had indicated, a huge amount of messages came my way, in fact Zuckerberg must know me by now, he and his team must be debating the pun about a slim slightly tall guy from questionable roots in some African country-by the way most of them must still think africa is one country, with a small A in the beginning, that’s, if they haven’t traveled a lot like most of you,who broke the world record for the most comforting inbox messages ever, by the way those hugs and warm kisses you guyz sent??? i feel warm in this cold Berliner weather now..warm and happy and now its my turn to share this positive energy with you, with you and you and not forgetting even you!!

Not that i haven’t been stubbed and made to spend a night in a Berliner hospital, no! Not that i haven’t been stopped in humiliating crowded bus stations by police a mid beautiful people while going about my business, no! Not that my ATM card takes like three weeks to be delivered and even then i still have to wait for the pin like nobody else does if i were from EU, no! Not that clubs and bars finally get to ask for my ID when going out with friends who need not to show theirs for they look in a certain way which i don’t because i was born this way, no! Not that some people would rather stand on the train than sit next to this questionable character wearing our clothes!! no! not that, no not all that!

See, with me, this is how the world appears. Instead of concentrating on being so mad at the people who stubbed me and made me spend that awful night in the hospital, i chose to think and thank those who called the ambulance, those who came with it and the needed service they offered me at the time! that doctor who told the police to stop asking me so many questions for i needed to be stitched, that nurse who gave me some painkillers when i got up the next day..see impact..positive impact! Those citizens who stood besides me and asked the police under what grounds are you stopping this young man, those friends who quite often offer the service of calling the bank on my behalf because they are citizens and their voice and language works magic as the bank service provides get to understand that this foreigner is not alone lets give him the damn service right! those guys standing after me on the line who upon seeing that the ID demand was prejudicial decided to walk away from the club after giving the security personnel a piece of their mind that we just lost the thrill to go into your club if this is how you treat people!

we can all vote for a better and more positive society with our deeds, those who we stand with, those who we stand against for their nasty prejudiced actions, where we choose to sit in the train and in fact time and again say hallo, jambo, guten tag, wie geht’s, ciao or chat about any of the most general topics in life, that smile that is real and don’t tell me its not because its better than a nasty look even if its so German! That and in many more ways, we can be the little mosquitoes in the room, but this time, for a positive impact, now ladies and gentlemen, can i have my coffee before i get cold again, have a fantastic moment, may it be continuous and contagious all around you! impact, positive impact, because we all need it!!

6 thoughts on “positive impact!!

  1. Not often do I encounter a weblog that’s both informative and enjoyable, and let me
    tell you, you may have hit the nail on the head. Your conceptis
    excellent; the issue is something that not sufficient individuals are speaking wisely about.
    I am happy that I stumbled across this in my pursuit of something relating to this.

    Like

  2. Great website, fantastic post as well! I genuinely love how it is simple on my eyes and the information are well written.I am wondering how I
    could be informed whenever a new post has been created.
    I’ve subscribed to your RSS which must do the trick!
    Have a good day!

    Like

  3. Wow! This could be one of the most helpful blogs we’ve ever
    arrive across on this subject.Excellent. I’m
    also an expert in this topic thus I can understand
    your effort.

    Like

Leave a Reply

